Zenega 64MB BIOS

Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon linux_junkie » 20.09.2008 23:59

Hello,
Does anyone have a BIOS image of the old 64MB version of the Bose Zenega 101S??
I would like to try this on the Thomson IP1000 which has all the same hardware except tv-out chip.

Or does the new S100 v1.09 BIOS also work on the 64MB boards?

http://www.settoplinux.org/index.php?title=Thomson_IP1000


Thanks 8)
Don't settle for what you have. Hack it!
Benutzeravatar
linux_junkie
Newbie
 
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: 20.09.2008 23:02

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon mygandede » 21.09.2008 00:33

Zenega and S100 use the same Bios. The RAM is upgradable if you change the chips and some resistors on the board. Both boards can be updated to 256MB if you have RAM that fits the needed specifications (PC133 SD-RAM, memory organisation 32Mx16 for 256MB etc.).
If your box has a Amibios it might work. I think they use the same chip (smsc) but in the S100 it is labeled with a golden Amibios sticker.
The flashrom in your box has a socket so it can be easily exchanged if the S100 Bios won´t drive your box.

CD Image for Bios Upgrade can be found here.
viewtopic.php?t=4610
mygandede
Professional
 
Beiträge: 444
Registriert: 08.06.2008 22:29

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon linux_junkie » 21.09.2008 00:51

Thanks, I'll try it out 8)

So your saying if you want to use the new v1.09 BIOS on the Zenega 101S you have upgrade the memory?
Don't settle for what you have. Hack it!
Benutzeravatar
linux_junkie
Newbie
 
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: 20.09.2008 23:02

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon jonny » 21.09.2008 04:19

hi,

linux_junkie hat geschrieben:Thanks, I'll try it out 8)

So your saying if you want to use the new v1.09 BIOS on the Zenega 101S you have upgrade the memory?


no, you neither have to upgrade memory nor is the bios the same.

the s100 bios lacks i.e. support of cpu fan...

you can use the v109 of s100, but its not 100% intermateable.

you can find the bios image of s101 and some of s100 at http://zenega.bzt.de/intern/s100/
but keep in mind - its copyrighted... so - "for educational purposes only" ;-)

jonny
jonny
Professional
 
Beiträge: 885
Registriert: 13.02.2006 00:14
Wohnort: SLS

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon linux_junkie » 21.09.2008 06:26

Thank you very much :lol:
We already use the the S100 v1.07 BIOS for the RCA RM4100 which has 128MB and everything works great! Well except for the tv-out because it is a different chip :( The RCA RM4100 and Thomson IP1000 both have a Conexant CX25873 instead of a Focus FS454 tv-out chip. But hopefully someday we could fix that. By the way I am also a coreboot developer that wrote bios's for both of these boards. So I know quite alot about them. 8)

Thanks again - linux_junkie
My site: Set-Top-Linux
Don't settle for what you have. Hack it!
Benutzeravatar
linux_junkie
Newbie
 
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: 20.09.2008 23:02

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon jonny » 21.09.2008 08:43

n.p. :-)
btw: the focus chip isnt supported via bios of the s100
you may have a look to subdir /intern/smt/ its nearly the same hardware and fs454 drivers inside bios file :-)

jonny
jonny
Professional
 
Beiträge: 885
Registriert: 13.02.2006 00:14
Wohnort: SLS

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon linux_junkie » 21.09.2008 09:37

Hmm. I wondered that. So when you startup the s100 the bios does not start tv-out via the Focus FS454? Is it started by the OS?
Also what box is the smt.bin from? The Samsung SMT 7020s? If so it has a different northbridge i815 right? If so unfortunatly the vbios (vga bios) is totally different than the i830m. We also have a i815 box with a Focus FS453 that the tv-out starts right up from bios:

http://www.settoplinux.org/index.php?title=Akimbo_AP1200

I have mythtv running on it and it works pretty good. :D

Thanks - linux_junkie
Don't settle for what you have. Hack it!
Benutzeravatar
linux_junkie
Newbie
 
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: 20.09.2008 23:02

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon jonny » 21.09.2008 10:02

right ...

(yes to all questions ;-)

jonny
jonny
Professional
 
Beiträge: 885
Registriert: 13.02.2006 00:14
Wohnort: SLS

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon mygandede » 21.09.2008 14:33

linux_junkie hat geschrieben:So your saying if you want to use the new v1.09 BIOS on the Zenega 101S you have upgrade the memory?

You don´t have to. It´s optional.

the s100 bios lacks i.e. support of cpu fan...

S100 v 1.09 Bios supports fan regulation.
-> viewtopic.php?f=16&t=4174&p=34744#34744
Edit: Ok also noch vielen test´s kann ich sagen auch die Revision 5.0 geht ohne Probleme alle Hardware Versionen die mir bekannt sind 3 stück laufen auch mit 1.09 auch die Lüfter Steuerung bleibt erhalten.
mygandede
Professional
 
Beiträge: 444
Registriert: 08.06.2008 22:29

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon linux_junkie » 21.09.2008 18:31

Well I tested all four s101, v1.00, v1.07, and v1.09. They all work great on the RCA RM4100 and detect 128MB of memory. Unfortunatly none of them work on the Thomson IP1000, so they must be for 128MB and up boards. That's ok though. I know what I need to do. Because the onboard memory does not have a SPD rom, and the SPD values are hardcoded into the BIOS, I just need to comb through it until I find the SPD table and then I can change them to the correct values. That is unless someone has another BIOS from a 64MB board I could try?

Question though, it seems s101 and v1.00 have alot more setup options than v1.07, and v1.09 so what are the improvements in the newer BIOS? Is there some king of changelog that tells the fixes?

Thanks - linux_junkie
Don't settle for what you have. Hack it!
Benutzeravatar
linux_junkie
Newbie
 
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: 20.09.2008 23:02

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon jonny » 22.09.2008 01:38

hi,
mygandede hat geschrieben:
the s100 bios lacks i.e. support of cpu fan...

S100 v 1.09 Bios supports fan regulation.
-> viewtopic.php?f=16&t=4174&p=34744#34744
Edit: Ok also noch vielen test´s kann ich sagen auch die Revision 5.0 geht ohne Probleme alle Hardware Versionen die mir bekannt sind 3 stück laufen auch mit 1.09 auch die Lüfter Steuerung bleibt erhalten.

iss zwar schon n jahr her, aber:
die aussage bezieht sich m.e. auf die lüftersteuerung innerhalb zenslack.
diese geschieht über i2c und funktioniert biosunabhängig (wie die meisten sachen unter linux...)
ich habe damals die 109 auf n 101er board gespielt und der lüfter lief die ganze zeit volle pulle.
mit dem original bios wird der lüfter os unabhängig gesteuert.

jonny
jonny
Professional
 
Beiträge: 885
Registriert: 13.02.2006 00:14
Wohnort: SLS

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon jonny » 22.09.2008 01:50

linux_junkie hat geschrieben:Well I tested all four s101, v1.00, v1.07, and v1.09. They all work great on the RCA RM4100 and detect 128MB of memory. Unfortunatly none of them work on the Thomson IP1000, so they must be for 128MB and up boards. That's ok though. I know what I need to do. Because the onboard memory does not have a SPD rom, and the SPD values are hardcoded into the BIOS, I just need to comb through it until I find the SPD table and then I can change them to the correct values. That is unless someone has another BIOS from a 64MB board I could try?

humm...
the s101board has just 64mb of ram...
Question though, it seems s101 and v1.00 have alot more setup options than v1.07, and v1.09 so what are the improvements in the newer BIOS? Is there some king of changelog that tells the fixes?
Thanks - linux_junkie

the only remarkable improvement is: 109 fixes the broken self adjustment of the usb-boot devices.
the whole thing seems to be a bit beta...

jonny
jonny
Professional
 
Beiträge: 885
Registriert: 13.02.2006 00:14
Wohnort: SLS

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon ronja.schmid » 22.09.2008 07:53

@jonny
auch bei der 1.09 ist die lüftersteuerung im bios nur wird der lüfter zur 1.00 nicht mehr ganz abgeschaltet sondern läuft immer etwas mit "volle bulle" kann ich nicht bestädigen hab schon etliche zenegas auf 1.09 geupdatet und der lüfter geht 1a ok immer mit grundbetrieb unter last etwas schneller aber beim 1.00 bios dafür wenn er lief dann wirklich volle bulle und zudem wurde die cpu auch dadurch mehr thermisch belastet.
ronja
Benutzeravatar
ronja.schmid
Professional
 
Beiträge: 1889
Registriert: 07.09.2005 14:35
Wohnort: Oberfranken

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon mygandede » 22.09.2008 10:34

@linux_junkie

Since you´re a skilled bios programmer...

Could you please fix the HDD size limit in the v 1.09 Bios?
Like in all older bios theres´s a limit about 127GB or 137GB for IDE connected drives. I didn´t test it yet but internet research confirmed that there is a limit.

Or could you extract the Bios-drivers for the FS454 chip from the SMT7020 bios and place it in the S100 bios?
Unfortunately the SMT7020 bios is another brand. I think it´s an award bios - S100 has amibios.
mygandede
Professional
 
Beiträge: 444
Registriert: 08.06.2008 22:29

Re: Zenega 64MB BIOS

Beitragvon linux_junkie » 22.09.2008 14:23

Sorry I don't know the German language.

Ahh, I wish it was just as easy as being a skilled bios programmer....

In coreboot, everything is written in C, and we have source code that we wrote from public datasheets, and public docs. Intel offers us no support, AMD on the other hand does.

Normal BIOS's are all written in assembly, and there is no source code. Unless you are a mainboard OEM vender. That is were hacking skills come in because you have to try to reverse engineer/disassemble it. Even that is not 100% because without the source, you don't always know what your looking at.

All the BIOS's (s101, v1.00, v1.07, and v1.09) all have the FS454 code in them. The mystery is why doesn't it work? The FS454 code is executed by the Intel vbios (vga bios) and really does not have much to do with the actuall BIOS. Intel does have a utility called "Bios Modification Program" (Intel BMP) that is used to rebuild the vbios (vga bios) with tv-out chip support built in. The problem is I can not find this program anywhere, and Intel will not give it up to anyone, only mainboard OEM venders. So if any of you have a connection with Intel and can get me this program, I will gladly get the FS454 working for you. As for using the FS454 code from the SMT7020, it will not work. Because like I said it is dependant on the vbios (vga bios) and the SMT7020 has a different graphics chip (i815).

Could you please fix the HDD size limit in the v 1.09 Bios? Like in all older bios theres´s a limit about 127GB or 137GB for IDE connected drives. I didn´t test it yet but internet research confirmed that there is a limit.

I can look into this and see if there is a hack for AMI BIOS's.

Thanks - linux_junkie
Don't settle for what you have. Hack it!
Benutzeravatar
linux_junkie
Newbie
 
Beiträge: 6
Registriert: 20.09.2008 23:02

Nächste

Zurück zu Hardware

Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 1 Gast

cron